Regardless of how careful you may be on the road a single careless person can cause an accident in the blink of an eye. Unfortunately, in the state of Florida, hit and run accidents happen all too often. If you have suffered a personal injury during a hit and run accident, you need to take a few steps right away to help preserve your case.
Steps to Take After Suffering a Personal Injury in a Hit and Run Accident
If you have been hit by another vehicle, and they drove away, there are five things you should try to do right away. These include:
- Contact law enforcement
- Provide a statement to the police and have a report filed
- Acquire the names and contact information for anyone who may have seen the accident
- Take pictures or video of your vehicle’s damage and any personal injuries you have suffered
- Get medical treatment for injuries
The Presumption of Negligence in Hit and Run Accidents Resulting in a Personal Injury
The state of Florida allows for the presumption of negligence in cases such as hit and runs. Because a jury may conclude that any driver who leaves the scene after an accident has been negligent, it makes sense that the actual act of leaving is also considered indicative of the other driver’s degree of fault.
In this case, an example would be that juries could reasonably state that drivers who are only one percent at fault for the accident would be much less likely to leave the scene, than one who was more at fault. Additionally, the jury may determine drivers who are 99 percent at fault are more likely to leave the scene than one who was less at fault.
Additionally, if you were the victim of a hit and run accident, and the personal injury you incur involves mental anguish because of the other person leaving the scene, then you may be entitled to receive additional damages. The additional suffering that you encounter because of the circumstances of the accident is something relevant to prove, and that is probative of your damages.
Insurance Impact on Personal Injuries Resulting from Hit and Run Accidents
One of the issues that has the most impact on the case is related to insurance coverage for you, as well as the at-fault part. Currently, the state of Florida doesn’t require drivers to have bodily injury coverage, but it does require $10,000 in PIP, and $10,000 in property coverage. In most cases, your own PIP coverage is what will be used to handle your medical costs after a hit and run accident.
However, if you believe that you deserve more, or that your pain and suffering surpassed the limits of Florida’s insurance coverage, then the best thing you can do is contact a personal injury attorney. They can review the facts of your case to determine the best course of action for the situation.
More information about hit and run accidents and the personal injury issues you may encounter can be found by contacting an attorney. If you need help or have questions, contact the team of lawyers from Fetterman & Associates by calling 561-845-2510.